Day 221: Water Testing

Day 221

I have recently purchased a fish tank.  A 120 litre affair in which I have planted real plants in preparation for getting some fish.  A key part of setting up the tank for me is undertaking a fishless cycle – making sure there are enough good bacteria in the filter before I put any fish in.  Today I tested the water prior to starting the cycle.  I can’t remember if having Nitrates already is a good thing though.  I suspect the plants might think so.

Ammonia: 0; Nitrates: 4.0; PH: 7.4; Nitrites: 0

Taken with my Olympus Pen EP-1. Setting: Aperture Priority. Aperture: f2.8; Shutter: 1/50; ISO: 800.  Macro lens.  Cropped in iPhoto.

3 thoughts on “Day 221: Water Testing

  1. Pingback: Day 224: Planted Fish Tank | 365 photo project

Leave a Reply

